Posted in Assignment 1 ~ Beauty and the sublime, Coursework, Research and Reflection

Assignment One – Re Tutor Feedback

I had a fantastic chat with my tutor, Les Monaghan who brought up lots of interesting topics and showed me new paths to follow for the course. He especially encouraged me to continue exploring into childhood fears, psychoanalysis and especially trees, the significance of the Witches fingers and their place in cultures and myths. I’m very excited about this, it’s very thought provoking to investigate one topic more thoroughly and see where the different threads lead you, like wading deeper into a forest on unfamiliar paths.

In a University, Les said, you’d pin several images on the wall that followed a theme, and over the week see how it invited different responses. Depending on the different responses you might switch them around, add some new images or even replace them with entirely new images. He recommended that I take that direction by posting my images up here.

The reason being was, though he was positive and enthusiastic about my work, he saw many different stories inside my set for Assignment One and wondered whether I would like to extract just one story. As he says I have several months to decide before assessment. As the Assignment had kept shifting and taking on new forms, a little bit of all the former ideas had joined in and I had wondered whether there were too many pathways.

I had wondered as I submitted the Assignment whether there were too many narratives, as the assignment had kept shifting and taking on new forms, many ideas had come together the Rorschach ink blots, the witches fingers, even the motion. As the Assignment had kept shifting and taking on new forms, a little bit of all the former ideas had join

With that in mind, I looked at my photos for Assignment One and placed them in the following categories each designated in a personal slide show, my wall in the University following my recurrent theme “My images use the uncanny, to allow the imagination to possess the subconscious to see shapes, faces, monsters or dreams…Through imitation of Rorschach inkblots and fear I have portrayed my interpretation of the sublime through an alternate landscape, my fear landscape focusing on Freud’s theory of the Uncanny. A fear landscape in a physical landscape.”

SLIDESHOW ONE

Witches Fingers

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

28th of June – 2017 “I feel quite inspired by the Witches Fingers, they are the images that relate directly to my personal experience and they carry with them a feeling of the uncanny. At the present moment I feel leaning towards creating more images like this for the final assignment”

Movement

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

28th of June – 2017 – I do quite like the moving image set. I just wonder whether it’s strong enough to stand on it’s own?

Rorschach Ink Blots

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

28th of June – 2017 – It’s hard to choose between the Witches Fingers and the blots as they both are strikingly different. Perhaps I can include these in a later assignment.

Author:

Hi, I'm ChloeClik, artist, writer, photographer, musician, day dreamer and all round lover of life. I love so much in life and equally love to blog about it. I hope you enjoy sharing some of my adventures with me :)

2 thoughts on “Assignment One – Re Tutor Feedback

    1. Thank you Catherine! That’s such a great idea. I am really enjoying the module, I feel I’m a bit behind, it can be hard to drag myself away from my art but I love them both! I was just admiring your beautiful sun paintings! So effective, especially like the seed pod one! You’re so creative!

      Like

Leave a Reply

