Posted in Coursework

Seeking inspiration – update

There is in every artist’s studio a scrap heap of discarded works in which the artist’s discipline prevailed against his imagination. 
  ~Robert Brault

In all the Level One courses, when it comes to brainstorming for assignment ideas I’ve always felt so inspired with many plans and project ideas. However, I’ve not found it as easy this time and wondered whether it was me, whether my lack of my education due to my health was holding me back or the intense treatment I was on holding any inspiration down. I looked at the forums on the OCA and was so relieved to see that I was not alone as other students had found the amount of reading and writing quite overwhelming too and such a leap from Level One. As I tossed idea after idea into the rubbish bin all the time I worked at honing my critical eye and academic writing and the more I did this the more my imagination was starting to suffer. Every idea that sparked a shred of inspiration was immediately subdued by discipline. I wrote to one of my course mates, Steve Middlehurst, in a moment of desperation and the advice he gave me was so inspiring and helpful, I’ve printed it off and it goes everywhere with me now. It’s even with me right now in Scotland.

I wrote to one of my course mates, Steve Middlehurst, in a moment of desperation and the advice he gave me was so inspiring and helpful, I’ve printed it off and it goes everywhere with me now. It’s even with me right now in Scotland.

All the tips were so helpful, he said, “You have clear and interesting ideas, the tutors and assessors like to learn something new or hear a contrary view or be offered a different writing style…At every step of the way pervert the course to fit your practice and your ideas – this will help you develop thought streams that will run through the course and perhaps develop into assignments. Write in your style, don’t try to mimic Krauss or any other academic author (read Bill jay, one of the best writers on photography ever – he writes in plain English and is funny and subversive). You might get told to be more academic by a tutor and you can cross that bridge when you get to it’ 

This really helped me and I find myself brimming with inspiration again and motivation for the course. I feel I’ve cleared the first part of an SAS obstacle course, I have a plan for Assignment One and am ready to go on.

 

Author:

Hi, I'm ChloeClik, artist, writer, photographer, musician, day dreamer and all round lover of life. I love so much in life and equally love to blog about it. I hope you enjoy sharing some of my adventures with me :)

One thought on “Seeking inspiration – update

Leave a Reply

